Charles Shaughnessy iBlog #2

Charles Shaughnessy iBlog # 2

Ephemeral brain droppings, rants and eureka moments from Charles Shaughnessy 


So here it is, iBlog # 2.  Charlie first talks about his time on Happily Divorced with Fran Drescher on TV Land then shares his personal feelings about the state of the United States as only Charlie can!  Agree? Disagree?  Leave your comments here letting him know what YOU think!






You know how much Charlie loves to blog?  Did you know that Charlie has his own YouTube Channel? He has started doing video blogs & posting them there!  We are going to re-post them on here too, so feel free to comment on what he is saying on Charlie’s Only Connect! Blog here on Blogger.  We use this blog to give you all the latest news & blogs & a place to comment back to what he is saying! 

If you want to know as soon as a new video blog is posted, be sure to subscribe to Charlie’s YouTube Channel and follow this blog here on Blogger. Charlie ALWAYS wants to hear what your comments are on ALL of his blogs, even if you disagree with him, so make sure you leave your comments here.  Please also rate & share on your own social networking pages, tweet, 1+ and spread the blogs around & let your friends know about the new iBlogs! 


To read the comments that all of you have left on this blog AND Charlie’s comments back to you, click on the link comments here OR at the bottom of this blog where it says, for example, 26 comments. Also, be aware that we moderate the comments,(we do not censor however) and are on West Coast Time, so they will get approved as soon as we see them.  

To keep up with Charles Shaughnessy on all of his social networks, click on the icons below. We hope you will all participate, comment, friend, share, rate, follow & subscribe!

Charles Shaughnessy Facebook Fan PageCharles Shaughnessy Official TwitterCharles Shaughnessy YouTube PageCharles Shaughnessy Only Connect! Blog on BlogspotCharles Shaughnessy IMDBCharles Shaughnessy ONLY CONNECT! Blog on TwitterFollow Charles Shaughnessy's ONLY CONNECT! Blogs From Networked Blogs on FacebookCharles Shaughnessy on MySpace

68 thoughts on “Charles Shaughnessy iBlog #2

  1. Let’s take another crack at this…of course, this won’t be as eloquent as the version that’s apparently lost in cyberspace.Regarding the chap from Norway and his faith: he has characterized himself as a Darwinist, not a Christian, and he apparently has doubts about God’s existence. It seems the media jumped the gun in calling him a right-wing fundamentalist Christian; he might be a Christian, but I seriously doubt that a devout Christian like he was portrayed would have doubts about God’s existence. But even if he were a right-wing fundamentalist Christian, you cannot legitimately say all Christians are evil because of what he did. That would be akin to stating that all Muslims were responsible for 9/11 or all Mormons are polygamists because Brigham Young had 55 wives. In the case of Breivik’s attacks—the bomb near the government buildings and the shootings at the Labour Party youth summer camp—they were perpetrated by someone who is a supporter/leader of a radical group intent on driving the Muslims out of Europe—the new Knights Templar. For those readers unfamiliar with medieval history, the Knights Templar (also known as the Order of the Poor Fellow Soldiers of Christ and of the Temple of Solomon) were especially active in the Crusades, that lovely adventure among Western Christians (aka Roman Catholics) to drive Muslims out of western Europe and the Holy Land. At the time of the Crusades, almost all of the Iberian peninsula was under the control of the Moors (simplistically, Muslims from North Africa), and they would not be driven off the continent until early 1492. The Knights Templar were considered the most skilled fighting units among the western Christians, and, although they were officially endorsed by the Catholic Church, they pretty much were not supported by the Pope and were disbanded in the early 14th century after several members were tortured or burnt at the stake. In modern times, the Knights Templar are most often associated with Freemasonry, but, in Breivik’s case, the Knights Templar is “not a religious organization but rather a Christian ‘culturalist’ military order” according to his 1,500+ page manifesto. Their goal, to put it simply, is quite similar to that of the Knights Templar during the Middle Ages—to eradicate Islam from western Europe.Anyway, just like not all of Christendom was involved with the Crusades (again, it was only the West; Eastern Christians—aka Orthodox—did not participate; in fact, Greek Orthodox were also among the targets of the Crusades–in other words, Christians were attacking Christians), not all Christians support Breivik’s attacks. Instead, what we see with Breivik’s attacks is a way to draw attention to his group and its goals. He wanted to send a message, and people have heard it loud and clear—as they now know about his manifesto and what the new Knights Templar advocate, essentially having the same goal as the original Knights Templar during the Middle Ages.

  2. It was only after I sent a message to Charles facebook and youtube feed that I discovered this blog existed. It is quite late in the game :(, but I still feel the need to post my opinion. Sorry for being such an ignoramus. I will keep up next time.I am 23, married, and have developed more of an interest in what is happening in my state and country since I got married (I wanna know where the hell my money is going!… I am a republican who is happy to pay a higher tax to help my country)I know this is a long message, sorry. Below is my response to your latest blogs on youtube from the 25th, if you care to read. If not, I totally understand, you are a busy person. They are positive responses; I am not a troll or a hater Unfortunately when people say that Obama raised our debts they thought that it wouldn't be inevitable…Obama campaigned for change. Republicans think that meant no more debt. What it really meant was "I am willing to do what is necessary to get us out of these two wars, including taxing to do it."… and there goes the "revenue".And when republicans hear that they call him a liar and point their fingers.I keep up with your videos, Charles and I must say that I usually don't agree with you politically, (mostly because I am a conservative republican from Utah) but I must applaud you for comments because they are FACT, and most ppl don't post facts anymore and I agree with you.Also, I don't believe that printing up an Army of Christ manifesto is proof or testimony of a Christian, especially in light of his actions. Plain and simple: a Christian follows in the ways of Christ. Killing people isn't Christ like. Period.Unfortunately the last form of acceptable form of discrimination is against Christianity and most other religions. So when criminals' religions are brought into the issues they create it becomes a time for more than only justice, but also for hate.Americans say whatever they want… and they are usually wrong.Utah) but I must applaud you for comments because they are FACT, and most ppl don't post facts anymore and I agree with you.

  3. It was only after I posted a comment on youtube AND sent a message to your facebook that I saw the link for this blog on your feed. 😦 So sorry for being such a ignoramus.I am 23, married, and have developed more of an interest in what is happening in my state and country since I got married (I wanna know where the hell my money is going!… I am a republican who is happy to pay a higher tax to help my country)I know this is a long message, sorry. Below is my response to your latest blogs on youtube from the 25th, if you care to read. If not, I totally understand, you are a busy person. They are positive responses; I am not a troll or a hater Unfortunately when people say that Obama raised our debts they thought that it wouldn't be inevitable…Obama campaigned for change. Republicans think that meant no more debt. What it really meant was "I am willing to do what is necessary to get us out of these two wars, including taxing to do it."And when republicans hear that they call him a liar and point their fingers.I keep up with your videos, Charles and I must say that I usually don't agree with you, (mostly because I am a conservative republican from Utah) but I must applaud you for comments because they are FACT, and most ppl don't post facts anymore and I agree with you.

  4. To Lila W: If you choose to not wear your belief on your sleeve that is your issue. You do not have a right to choose for me. If I choose to wear my beliefs on my sleeve, I definitely don't need anyone's permission to do that. If you don't like that that is your problem not mine. If I choose to make my decision about the debt ceiling not based on hate of a particular party that is my decision again. I choose who I would like to discuss these issues with. If you don't like that then I guess that's too bad for you. I also meant no harm by asking Charles his believes. I am not discriminating against any particular religion, I am just wondering. Wow talk about being attacked. I think I am going to stick with some others who don't want to get involved in these latest blogs. I hope you have a great night and lets pray (oops such a bad word praying wouldn't want to talk about God or Jesus lets keep that to ourselves).lol. Lets pray that our country can survive another politic drama. Obama drama.

  5. I asked about his beliefs because I am curious. I am not meaning any harm. I didn't say anything about the debt. I would like to be able to make some my decisions for myself regarding this situation. I do have a right to choose who I listen to.

  6. I want to thank skdonovan for commenting on Diane's question about Charlie's beliefs. This is what I mean by separating Church & State. Just because Charlie has strong viewpoints that may differ from others, or he may have taked about the horrendous Norwegian catastrophe being done by a Christian, it has nothing to do with his faith or the faith of any of the rest of us who have political viewpoints. And I think asking such a question as Diane does speaks volumes about how those of us who don't openly admit "to believing" doesn't mean we don't, but we are judged for not wearing "our faith" on our sleeve. We have already had a horrendous holocaust where people had to wear a designation of their faith on their sleeve. Let's not go there ever again.

  7. I just would like to, know what does Charlie beliving in god got to do with paying are debt but if you read anything about him he is a catholic and his wife is jewish and they pay taxes just like we do so this is not about his faith.

  8. WOW! Thank you Charlie for this blog. I started reading all of the comments within a short time after your posting yesterday & have twice tried to send my own comments but somehow keep erasing them. It's great to have a forum like this one to hear differing viewpoints although I was rather upset by the first few comments for they all seemed to be strongly against you & just the opposite of what I believe. Charlie I totally agree with what you said, & admire your passion & regardless of your profession or your income you have every right to express yourself this way. Bravo! I have been so distressed by the whole "debt ceiling" debacle & the negativity against our president that I have not been able to listen to all the rhetoric. I would want to believe that all of the people who are Emailing/writing to their congressional reps & emailing CNN etc. would have an affect & change the course of this stalemate but it's hard for me to be very optimistic. I was quite impressed though with the comments made by Peggy Kelly, the journalist (why she writes so well.) Personally, I believe in God but also strongly believe in the separation of Church & State as set up by our brilliant founding fathers. I find it really appalling to hear people in this country make the assumption that God is only on Our side. It may sound way too simplistic but I feel so much of the political crud that goes on would be so much cleaner if God (& Biblical texts) remained in people's hearts & present in the way we treated each other on a daily basis rather than the focus of every political decision or discussion.

  9. I'm not affiliated to any parties but I do strongly agree with you that people need to wake up and listen to the words spoken by both sides and think…the problem I see is that many individuals who is affiliated to one side will never budge no matter how stupid their ideas sound and this is for both sides…I tend to not talk politics b/c I never get an answer as to why they feel the person they support is so great or what is the real reason why they hate the other except for the fact that person is part of the other party……Take for example people complain about President Obama and how he has lied and not done anything he promised or how he hasn't saved our country as he said he would…my question to these individuals is of all the Presidents starting just from President Reagan's era who has done right? How can you expect one President who's only been in office for less than 4 years to change over 10 years of wrong?I don't think anyone from any side that can fix everything in one shot…and things take time to accomplish but can only be accomplished when the focus is on the country and it's people not on an individual or party…people need to focus on the issue…if the people used as much energy as they did to find out President Obama's origins/color/birth maybe we will be closer to finding a solution to the current problem.One thing I don't think you mentioned is that most of the rich companies/people who are getting tax exempts are those who are Republicans so of course they do not want to remove this exemption (This is my opinion I have no hard proof of this but i just feel this is the case 🙂 )…has any 'research' org done any research and looked into which side these companies/individual who are getting an exemption are they affiliated with?

  10. well I was going to get on my soap box but thought better of it as it difficult for me to express my views on a blog…I will say that I mostly agree with everyone and that we can all agree to disagree at times. I would like to share my thoughts) I retired from the fed gov last year after 35 yrs of service. (believe me this in no way makes me an expert) All of upper management have their own agenda and everyone else be damned. The gov has many many 'pots' of $$ which go to fund certain projects, it is illegal to 'move' any $$ from one project to another. It happens all the time though because GAO (Government Accountabilty Office) can't keep up with it all. Total chaos and political bullshit is rampant..I just don't see any way to lower the national debt if they keep running it they way they do..Obama wants the large companies to pay more taxes, seriously?? those companies will take the attitude "well, if I have to pay more taxes then I'm going to lay people off". Honestly I just don't see any change thats going to happen no matter who is in office…I don't know what the answer is..I feel for people that are looking for jobs, out of a job or have to work the rest of their lives…

  11. Ok again among all these replies we still need to compromise to move this country forward. We have to leave the past in the past, remove blame and work together to get this country back on track. Blame the right, blame the left blame. blame,blame. I want anyone to tell me that blame is going to solve this dilemma. Come on move on. I agree to disagree with you Charles but I cant go on spending my life blaming everyone else for situations that have been brought on by all the politicians. We need to work together. Come on wake up and smell the roses before they turn to thorns.

  12. Charlie–I was wondering how long it would take you to comment on the ridiculous goings on in D.C. I think it's time for the Republicans we elected start working towards the good of all Americans instead of trying to further their political agendas. The tragedy in Norway was just that-a terrible deed done by a demented individual-nothing more-nothing less. Looking forward to more Iblogs.

  13. I am really enjoying ur IBlog! Perhaps u need to replace Huckabee on Fox news! I would rather watch u;) Personally I agree with u and I agree with the Pres call to make Washington accountable and not 'kick the can down the road'I also am appalled that congress has been aware this is coming and over the last year how many times have they been allowed to play chicken until the last minute then 'miraculously' cone to some sort of agreement that 'saves' America in the final minutes? This is unacceptable and if this is going to be the new way to agree and make decisions then let's cut their pay except for the one month a year where they actually make progress! Let's cut their spending… Let congress carpool in and bring a pot luck lunch from home in lieu of ordering in lunches and taking limos around town. Shame on Washington for causing added stress and worry to the very people who worked to make this nation great and our military who protect And defend Washington every day. We have to take a stand and let them know this is not ok! God bless!

  14. I am really enjoying your Iblog;) I did agree with Pres OBama in his call for Americans to get involved and contact congressman…we are one nation and it's time to hold Washington accountable! Shame on them for these childish games of chicken , waiting till the last possible minute and then 'miraculously' coming to some agreement and 'saving' us! It's sickening really and shame on us for letting them get away with it! This country was built on the backs of the same people that the congress is threatening to withhold pay and cut benefits and the military who is out there preserving the congresses freedom to sit around and see who can hold their breath the longest. 😦

  15. Lovin u IBlogs;) personally, I am tired of the blame game and really questioning what exactly we are paying these reresentatives to do other than hold thier breath and act like immature children at our expense? Shame on congress for dragging these issues out to the point where our seniors and military have to worry unnecessarily if and when they will continue to receive benefits. It's also time for Americans to step up and I put the pressure on Washington to straighten up and stop playing Russian roulette with our country! 😦

Leave a Reply

